Turkmenistan Regulatory Narrative

Turkmenistan’s government nominally has three independent branches. However, after winning an uncontested presidential election in 1992 President Saparmurad Niyazov effectively dominated governance in all branches and at all levels until his death in late 2006. Political opposition reportedly is nearly non-existent. Harsh, arbitrary punishment of administrative “mistakes” and unforeseen shifts in top government positions have discouraged competent individuals from seeking government appointments.

For further detailed information on the national regulatory branches in Turkmenistan, please select the following document:

Turkmenistan National Regulatory Departments Additional Information

Note: The information provided in the attached documents, which has been taken from the old DLCA, does not match the structure of the new LCA and is therefore provided separately.

For information on Turkmenistan Regulatory Department contact details, please see the following link:

4.1 Turkmenistan Government Contact List