Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The main regulatory departments in the Republic of Congo are:

The Ministry of Agriculture and fishery who oversees the quality control of imported food items and regulates and promotes, agricultural research, price supports and agricultural subsidies, plant diseases and invasive species and matters related to the environment and regulates the fishing activities in the Country.

The Ministry of Health who endorse customs declaration when importing medical supplies deals with health care, including awareness campaigns, immunization campaigns, preventive medicine, and public health.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs oversees the authorisations of tax exemption for all items imported by humanitarian organizations.

The Ministry of Finance and budget through the Direction General “Impots et Domine” is in charge of the collection of taxes and the control of financial actions of the public actors.

The Ministry of Plan in in charge of NGO supervision and coordination. It is the Ministry of reference for the coordination and implementation of the DDO’s.

The Ministry of Forestry controls and evaluates the application of the rules in terms of forestry resources, hydrographic resources and animal resources.

The Ministry of Hydrocarbures orients and control the Government trust enterprises Control the private companies and organisations related to the oil sector and through the control authority AGENCE DE REGULATION DE L'AVAL PETROLIER (ARAP) assures competitiveness, transparency and maximum productivity in the oil sector.

The quality control for oil products and derivates is performed by the refinery CORAF situated in Pointe Noire.

The Ministry in charge of Postal Services and Telecommunications regulates the telecommunications: The Congolese Act of November 25, 2009 created a new telecommunications and postal regulatory authority in The Republic of the Congo, called:” L’Agence de régulation des postes et des communications électroniques” (ARPCE) that is the Postal and Telecommunications Regulatory Agency.

The ARPCE is a Public Administrative Authority that benefits of legal personality, and budgetary authority since it is financed by a tax on companies operating in the regulated sectors.

The ARPCE has the power to emit instructions and create administrative rules and regulations, the power to impose sanctions, the power to control postal and telecommunications networks.


The Republic of the Congo is member of the Economic Community of Central African States which promotes the regional economic cooperation and integration among the Countries sharing a common currency, the franc CFA. -The CEMAC “Code Communautaire de la Route” fixes the maximum permitted load regardless of number of axes at 50 mt.


The Republic of Congo is also a member of the WCO and a signatory of the revised Kyoto Convention and the Tampere Convention, all of which aims to facilitate the procedures for importation and communications in humanitarian emergencies.

For more information on regulatory departments and quality control laboratories’ contact details, please see the following links: 4.1 Republic of the Congo Government Contact List and  4.3 Republic of the Congo Laboratory and Quality Testing Companies Contact List.


  • No labels