Versions Compared


  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Table of Contents


Kyrgyz Republic (official country name since 2011, formerly - Kyrgyzstan) is a landlocked country in Central Asia, bordered by Kazakhstan, China, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. The Tian Shan mountain range makes up 80% of the nation and mountains, glaciers, alpine lakes and deep valleys dominate the landscape. 94% of the country is 1,000 m above sea level, with an average elevation of 2,750 m.


Basic Facts

Source / Year:



Population1,012,500 (2019 est)


Official languages Kyrgyz and Russian  (1999 census)

Ethnic groups

Kyrgyz 73.3%, Uzbek 14.6%, Russian 5.6%, Dungan 1.1%, other 5.4% (includes Uyghur, Tajik, Turk, Kazakh, Tatar, Ukrainian, Korean, German) (2019 est.)  

2015 CIA World Factbook


75% - Muslim; 20% - Russian Orthodox; 5% - other

2015 CIA World Factbook 

Country size (comparison)

About half of the size of Sweden  (2012)

Population density (map)

26 per km²

Border countries

China 1,063 km, Kazakhstan 1,212 km, Tajikistan 984 km, Uzbekistan 1,314 km. Total: 4,573 km.

2015 CIA World Factbook


Cotton, wool, meat, tobacco; gold, mercury, uranium, , hydropower; machinery; shoes, garments

2015 CIA World Factbook


Oil and gas, machinery and equipment, chemicals, foodstuffs

2015 CIA World Factbook

Agricultural products

Tobacco, cotton, potatoes, vegetables, grapes, fruits and berries; sheep, goats, cattle, wool

2015 CIA World Factbook

Generic Information

Find the country in the generic links below:


Economist Intelligence Unit

Humanitarian Info

World Food Programme

Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs:

Facts and Figures

Wolfram Alpha: