Versions Compared


  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Turkmenistan Regulatory Narrative

Turkmenistan’s government nominally has three independent branches. However, after winning an uncontested presidential election in 1992 President Saparmurad Niyazov effectively dominated governance in all branches and at all levels until his death in late 2006. Political opposition reportedly is nearly non-existent. Harsh, arbitrary punishment of administrative “mistakes” and unforeseen shifts in top government positions have discouraged competent individuals from seeking government appointments.


For information on Turkmenistan Regulatory Department contact details, please see the following link:

4.2.1 Turkmenistan Government Contact List