Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Department of Railway (DORW) falls under Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport (MOPIT). The main objective of the DORW is development, expansion and management of railway network in Nepal. It maintains and operates two railway lines in the country: the Raxaul–Sirsiya and the Jainagar–Janakpur. The former is a 6 km (3.7 mi) Broad-gauge railway line from Raxaul, India to Sirsiya Inland Container Depot (or dry port/ICD) near Birgunj, Nepal, and is primarily used for freight transport.

The second railway in the country is the Nepal Janakpur–Jainagar Railway (NJJR), a 2 ft 6 in (762 mm) narrow gauge railway, built in 1937. This 28-mile-long (45 km) track was later extended to Bijalpura. After a washout of the railway embankment and two bridges the track between Janakpur and Bijayalpura (22 kms railway line) was closed in 2001. The upgrade of  the Janakpur–Jainagar railway track  to 5 ft 6 in (1,676 mm) broad gauge is in progress along with   the extension of the railway line to Bardibas. Currently, it is not operational.

Railway Companies and Consortia

Rail transport of Nepal is managed by the state-run Nepal Railways Corporation Ltd. Some of the future projects outlined by the Nepal Railways Corporation Ltd are as follows:

  • The East-West Railway Line: An alternative mode of transportation to traverse east to west of the country relieving pressure on East-West highway.
  • Raxaul–Birgunj-Kathmandu: Upgrade and extension of existing railway line to connect Kathmandu.
  • Belt and Road Initiative: Nepal signed a framework agreement in 2017 to explore the feasibility to connect Nepal with Lhasa, Tibet, China via Kerung, Rasuwa a northern border point.

Link to the official website:

Key Route Information

Standard Route Information

Jaynagar, India to Bijalpura, Nepal (Nepal Railway Overview)

Raxaul, India to Sirsiya Inland Container Depot (or dry port/ICD) near Birgunj

Track gauge

59 km of 762 mm (2 ft 6 in) gauge, narrow gauge

6 km (3.7 mi) Broad-gauge railway line

Total track distance (single and / or double)

59 km, Janakpur Railway: Jaynagar, India to Bijalpura, Nepal

6 km (3.7 mi), Raxaul, India to Sirsiya ICD, Nepal