Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Indonesia Ports Map

Because Indonesia encompasses a sprawling archipelago, maritime shipping provides essential links between different parts of the country. Boats in common use include large container ships, a variety of ferries, passenger ships, sailing ships, and smaller motorized vessels. Traditional wooden vessel pinisi still widely used as the inter-island freight service within Indonesian archipelago. Main pinisi traditional harbors are Sunda Kelapa in Jakarta and Paotere harbour in Makassar.

The Indonesia Port Corporations or PT Pelabuhan Indonesia (Pelindo) are state corporations responsible for the governance, regulation, maintenance and operation of ports and harbors in Indonesia. Company numbers correspond to regional coverage of ports, they are numbered 1 through 4 from west (Sumatra) to east (Papua).

  • Pelindo I is responsible for ports in Aceh, North Sumatra, Riau and Riau Islands.

  • Pelindo II is responsible for ports in West Sumatra, Jambi, South Sumatra, Bengkulu, Lampung, Bangka Belitung, Banten, Jakarta, West Java and West Kalimantan.

  • Pelindo III is responsible for ports in Central Java, East Java, Bali, South Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, West Nusa Tenggara and East Nusa Tenggara

  • Pelindo responsible for ports in Papua, Maluku, East Kalimantan and Sulawesi. 

In relation to the emergency plan herein; shippers would deal with:

  • Pelindo II for;Tanjung Priok (Jakarta), Teluk Bayur (West Sumatra), Pulau Baai (Bengkulu) and with;

  • Pelindo I for; Belawan (North Sumatra), Sibolga (North Sumatra)

Port Authorities

Indonesian port authorities answer to the Director General of Sea Transportation and are generally responsible for matters related to management of marine navigation, shipping lanes, port security, port road networks, cargo through flows, development plans and port tariffs.

Based on Law No. 17/2010 about shipping and Government Decree No. 61/2009 about Ports, it is defined as:

  1. Port Authority is a government agency in the port as an authority which undertakes the function of setting, control, and monitoring the commercial activities inside the ports.

  2. Port Technical Implementer Unit (UPT) is a government agency in the port as an authority which undertakes the function of setting, control, supervision of port activities, and provision of port to port services which are not related to commercial activities.

  3. Syahbandar (Harbor Master) is a government official at the port which was appointed by the Minister and has the highest authority to execute and supervise the compliance with laws and regulations to ensure the safety and security of shipping.

Based on the Hierarchy of ports which stated in the Law No 17/2010, ports are classified into several types; according to the type of service to vessel and its cargo, ports are classified into:

  1. Major Port (Pelabuhan Utama): a port that serves large ships and a collector port / cargo divider. The four Mayor Ports in Indonesia are: Tanjung Priok (Jakarta), Tanjung Perak (Surabaya),   Belawan (Medan) and Makasar (Sulawesi). In Major Ports, Port Autority (OP) and Harbor Master (Syahbandar) are divided. It usually called Kantor Otoritas Pelabuhan Utama and Kantor Kesyahbandaran Utama.

  2. Branch Port (feeder port): a port which is serving smaller vessels and serve to the main port. In feeder ports, the port authority and harbor master are merged. The office is called Kantor Kesyahbandaran dan Otoritas pelabuhan (KSOP) class I – V (the classification is based on the Number of vessel calls and cargo movement (TEUs or MT) per year.

Ports in Sumatra Island

In relation to the emergency plan for Western Sumatra, herein:

A. Major Ports include:                        

  1. Tanjung priok (Jakarta)

  2. Belawan (Medan)

B. Branch/ Feeder ports include:       

  1. Sibolga (Sibolga)

  2. Pulau Baai (Bengkulu)

  3. Teluk bayur (Padang)

Ports in Java Island

In relation to the emergency plan for Southern Java, herein:

A. Major Ports include:                        

  1. Tanjung priok (Jakarta)

  2. Tanjung Perak (Surabaya)

B. Branch/ Feeder Ports include:

  1. Tanjung Emas (Semarang)

  2. Ciwandan (Banten)

  3. Merak Mas (Banten)

  4. Tanjung Intan (Cilacap)

  5. Lamong Bay (Surabaya)

  • No labels