2.1 Nigeria Port Assessment

The Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) is a federal government agency that governs and operates the ports of Nigeria. Since the year 2000 the NPA, on behalf of the government, has led a process of port privatization and management concessions. This has resulted in improved management, increased capital expenditure on handing equipment, technologies and facilities with a resultant improvement in overall productivity and efficiency. 

Nigeria has six major ports controlled by the Nigeria Ports Authority (NPA), they include: the Lagos Port Complex and Tin Can Island Port in Lagos; Calabar Port, Delta Port (Warri), Rivers Port at Port Harcourt, and Onne Port 

The ports of Warri, Onne, Port Harcourt and Calabar are multi-purpose facilities located in one the world’s largest crude oil production regions, the Niger delta, and their emphasis is on support of this sector. As they continue to invest in infrastructure, expanding their services and levels of operation, there is potential to further utilize these ports to alleviate the congestion at the Lagos port complex.  

Lagos is the main point of entry for Nigeria’s import and export commodity trade. 

The Lagos Port complex is severely hampered by bottlenecks caused by traffic gridlock due to on-going access road rehab works and due to the large numbers of trucks entering and exiting the port facilities. 

Multiple checkpoints in front of the port and environs further add to delays and the congestion issues. 




Jump to top