2 Bhutan Logistics Infrastructure

Bhutan has a population of about 750,000 people and the country is approximately the size of Switzerland. It is situated in the Himalayas and is bordered in the north by China and the south by India. As a comparison, nearby Nepal has a population of about 27 million people and is about 3.5 times the size of Bhutan.

 The Government of Bhutan has been a constitutional monarchy since 18 July 2008. Between 1907 and the 1950s, Bhutan was an absolute monarchy. The King of Bhutan is head of state. Executive power is exercised by the Lhengye Zhungtshog, or council of ministers, headed by the Prime Minister. Legislative power is vested in the bicameral Parliament, both the upper National Council and the lower National Assembly. A royal edict issued on April 22, 2007 lifted the previous ban on political parties, ordering that they be created, in anticipation of National Assembly elections to be held the following year. In 2008, Bhutan adopted its first modern Constitution, codifying the institutions of government and the legal framework for a democratic multi-party system.

 Bhutan is divided in 20 districts (dzongkhag, singular and plural), with regional government infrastructure.

 Infrastructure developments are supported by the United Nations, international development banks and bilateral donors among which the government of India.

 The roads and bridges infrastructure is discussed elsewhere but is vulnerable to earthquakes, floods and landslides due to the seismic geology of the country and high mountain Himalayan terrain.

Jump to top