1.2 Tuvalu Regulatory Departments & Quality Control 

Tuvalu is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. Effective executive power resides in the cabinet. The cabinet consists of the Prime Minister, who is elected by parliament, and up to four members of parliament The unicameral parliament has 15 elected members. Seven islands send two members, and one, Nukulaelae, sends one, Local government consists of a Town Council on the main island of Funafuti, and Island Councils on seven other islands. 

  • Ministry of Justice, Communication and Foreign Affairs 
  • When a disaster is declared, Foreign Affairs notifies international partners (governments, humanitarian agencies etc.) if assistance is needed. Sits on National Disaster Committee 
  • Will facilitate entry for humanitarian personnel during emergencies if alerted in advance 
  • Ministry of Finance and Economic Development 
  • Disaster relief is the direct responsibility of the National Disaster Committee with formal requests put through the Ministry of Finance and Economics for exemptions of customs duties. 
  • Ministry of Local Government and Agriculture 
  • Ministry of Fisheries and Trade 
  • Sits on National disaster Committee 
  • Ministry of Health, Social Welfare and Gender Affairs 
  • Sits on National disaster Committee 
  • Ministry of Transport, Energy and Tourism 
  • Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports 
  • Ministry Of Fisheries and Trade 
  • Sits on National disaster Committee 
  • Ministry of Justice, Communications and Foreign Affairs 
  • Sits on National disaster Committee 
  • Ministry of Home Affairs and Rural Development, Agriculture 
  • Sits on National disaster Committee 
  • Office of the Prime Minister 
  • Convenes the National Disaster Committee in an emergency Regional Trade Agreements 
  • Tuvalu is a member of the Pacific Island Countries Trade Agreement (PICTA)   
  • The South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement (SPARTECA). 
  • Member of the World Trade Organisation (WTO)   
  • The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations  Agreement (PACER) 
  • General Scheme of Preference (GSP) 
  • Everything But Arms (EBA) 
  • The Cotonou Agreement 

For more information on regulatory departments and quality control laboratories’ contact details, please see the following links:4.1 Government Contact List and 4.3 Laboratory and Quality Testing Company Contact List


Jump to top