1.2 Dominica Regulatory Departments & Quality Control


The Dominica Bureau of Standards (DBOS) is a statutory body under the aegis of the Ministry of Trade, Industry, Consumer and Diaspora Affairs and its general administration is guided by a 14 member National Standards Council (NSC) appointed by the Minister. The Dominica Bureau of Standards develops, establishes, maintains and promotes standards for improving industrial development, industrial efficiency, promoting the health and safety of consumers as well as protecting the environment, food and food products, the quality of life for the citizenry and the facilitation of trade. Core competencies – preparation and development of Standards for products, systems, and processes; development and establishment of food safety and quality management system, product testing, inspection and certification, GMPS, SOPSs and SSOPs, calibration and testing various measuring and weighing devices, training and various consultancy services. 

The Financial Services Unit (FSU) of the Commonwealth of Dominica is the regulatory authority for the Non-Bank Financial Sector in Dominica and the Money Laundering Supervising Authority; the authority of the Financial Services Unit (FSU), which is a department within the Ministry of Finance, covers the financial sector in Dominica with the exception of Commercial Banks and Securities Business. 

The Plant Protection and Quarantine Service (PPQ) of the Department of Agriculture is the lead institution concerned with the protection of agricultural resources of Dominica from dangerous plant (and animal) pests and diseases.  The responsibility for monitoring of Sanitary and Phytosanitary (SPS) Measures which sets out the basic rules for food safety and animal and plant health standards also resides with the Plant Protection and Quarantine Unit which collaborates with other related entities in execution of its activities. 

The Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority (ECCAA) is a civil aviation authority serving the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). The headquarters are in Saint John's, Antigua and Barbuda. The headquarters are in Saint John's, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda. The ECCAA also operates outstations, which include the Dominica Outstation at Melville Hall Airport.  

For more information on regulatory departments and quality control laboratories’ contact details, please see the following links: 4.1 Government Contact List and 4.3 Laboratory and Quality Testing Company Contact List





Jump to top